When I’m 103

On days when things seem particularly grim, I have been known to mutter that being an activist is aging me quickly. All those marches and rallies in all kinds of weather, burning the midnight oil too often, takes it’s toll on a girl. Of course it has always been in the back of my mind that at some point I would retire in glory and rest on my laurels. These hopes were completely dashed by an article about Irene Mensalves, an activist for 50 years who will turn 103 on January 17. And she is still going strong, albeit with a walker. A sign on her door reads, “War is not the answer” and last year she participated in a Raging Grannies action at a recruiting office. With pleasure I forgive Ms. Mensalves for dashing my retirement hopes and thank her for her inspiration.

Leave a Reply

